Circle LeftMBC LogoMount Baker Square Dance Council
Washington State
Serving the North Puget Sound Area

Council Officers
Club Information
Events Calendars
Council Dances
Special Dances
Special Events
Round of the Month
Level Dances
Ila Williams Award
Photo Gallery
Web Links

Ila Williams Memorial Award

Mount Baker Council established the Ila Williams Award in 2007 in memory of Ila Williams, who was an avid square dancer and Mount Baker Council officer, for all of her outstanding efforts and many contributions to the promotion of square dancing in Snohomish County and the State of Washington.

Criteria for Selection:

·        The Ila Williams Memorial Award shall be presented at the Mount Baker Council Spring Festival Dance each year to a Mount Baker Council area dancer (individual, couple, caller or cuer) who have done an outstanding job of promoting square dancing or round dancing in the Mount Baker Council area.

·        The award is to honor a person or couple for the time and effort they have devoted to our hobby.

·        The current holder shall retain the award for one year and shall select the following year’s recipient, outside of their own club, and present the award to the new recipient at the next Mount Baker Council Spring Festival.

Each recipient shall receive a pin or bar to wear denoting their award.

Each club or individual may send a nomination to the current recipient who is serving as the current year’s Chairman. This nomination should be accompanied with a resume (write-up) of the nominee’s accomplishments. Nominations aid in choosing a recipient and do not mean that they must be chosen from those nominations. The current holder may utilize any method they choose in selecting the recipient.

When a new holder is presented with the Ila Williams Memorial Award, an appropriately engraved plaque shall be presented to the outgoing holder by the Council President as a permanent keepsake (cost to be reimbursed by the Mount Baker Council up to $25.00) for engraving the name plate of the permanent award.

Subsequently, resumes should be passed on to or be presented to the current holder of the award.

Annual deadline will be February 1st.

Send resumes to: Lee & Lorna Barnhart <>

Previous recipients are:


Shorty & Tex Maneval

Rainbow Squares

2008 Frank Rousseau and Jean Raymond Happy Hoppers
2009 Dave and Bonnie Harry MBTCCA
2010 Ken and Audrey Sharp Freewheelers
2011 Jim and Polly Burnside Checkerboard Squares
2012 Doug and Pat Coleman MBTCCA
2013 John and Rosie Hayes Mt. Baker Singles/Skagit Squares
2014 Cliff and Sharan McCracken Dancing Shadows
2015 Ray and Cindy Gallagher MBTCCA
2016 Ron and Gailyn Ploeg Fidalgo Fogcutters
2017 Carol Harris Freewheelers
2018 Roy and Geri Johnson Sky Valley Whirlwinds
2019 Oren and Lew Gaskill Rainbow Squares
2020 Lee and Lorna Barnhart Samena Squares


Please E-mail your club information updates to the webmaster: